Life Balance

July 27, 2005 at 1:11 am (Uncategorized)

In the last two days I’ve been going through some major list making, and life organizing. This started off with me browsing some books on Amazon. Then I went to the business success & self improvement area and came across a David Allen book – called Ready for Anything: 52 Productivity Principles for Work & Life. I decided to think economically and borrow it from the library, then I read about his other book Get Things Done and then I went to his website, to see if any of the book information was available there. Sure enough, there was a lot of wonderful information and then he mentioned using Life Balance to help manage the ideas he presents. All of this was a huge thrill for me. He highly encourages list making, and I have been using Life Balance for years – although it is difficult to use with my Palm Pilot – given the lack of quality keyboard and the scratched text entry window that mis-reads all of my entries. So annoying. But Life Balance really is a super product – it allows you to keep track of the longest of long term goals, and then break all things down to tasks that can be prioritized based on balancing my life according to my wishes, the time of day, my location, and their place in a list of subtasks. Between David Allen’s plan for focusing and Flylady, and Life Balance I thought I could really be on to something. I actually bought the desktop version of Life Balance, which I’ve been wanting for several years after Trip said just get it. Honestly, I’m panicking about money right now, but I truly think this will help me better manage all aspects of life, and importantly the income earning side for me. so far I’ve made tremendous progress – keeping on top of my little paper piles, and managing several projects. Of course, there is a lot of “list management” at first – but I know that as I get my system in place, it’s going to smooth out. I even found a file someone created that I was able to import into Life Balance that breaks down the Flylady list of housekeeping tasks into a useable form for Life Balance. So nice! I’ll give a report tomorrow. That reminds me – I am going to schedule “update my Blog” in my program. Let’s just see how this works out, shall we?

Leave a comment