Missing in Action

June 16, 2005 at 6:40 pm (Uncategorized)

Too busy doing and not taking the time to write about it. I’m now about to get to work on my list of stuff to do before my trip to Virginia with Grandma on Monday. I’ve got to pack road food for the pickiest eaters ever as we plan to visit my Grandma’s aunt whose idea of cooking is to throw whatever it is in a pot with a bunch of grease and a ham hock and boil it to death. Perhaps I exaggerate, but it’s going to be a little rough for the boys and I given our mostly vegetarian diets. I have a feeling I’m going to need to explain that this includes chicken.

I have been enjoying some of the fruits from our garden in Belmar. Delicious strawberries and snow peas & lettuce. My home garden is looking great. Aside from killing some of my purple pansies (I believe root rot from over watering) I have been very diligent – and even the lawn has been kept mowed and watered.

I worked for Frank for an hour today, so I feel good that some $ will come in for my efforts. Trip just told me the train fare is going up $30 a month, which almost sent me in to a tail spin. Any time I think we can tighten our belts and do a little better something screws up the plan. I hate that train and I truly wish he could find something closer to home (and cheaper commute! – right now it’s almost $400 a month for commuting alone! And the time is insane. I don’t want to dwell on this right now – it’s not a good idea if I want to keep a positive frame of mind. When I get back I’m going to throw some energy into growing the food co-op and getting some more jobs at home.

Today was Elliot’s last day of school and I’m actually (crazily) toying with the idea of taking the boys into the city tomorrow for a fun day visiting Daddy at work. Maybe that’s a dumb idea considering all I want to get done before I go, and Sunday being Father’s Day. Better to wait till we get back and pick a less busy time. I’m so glad I am able to let go of crazy distractions and focus right now. I guess I’d better work on my to do list while I’m in the right frame of mind. Later!

Leave a comment